RSS

Given To The Wind

11 Sep

image

She was hardened, immeasurably,
with the wind her only solace then,
until I spoke gentle means to her,
pronouncing my old tethered ways,
scorned was I by winds she knew;
then, she was silent, introspective,
and in earnest, she heard my heart,
the very soul of my ardent means,
touched as she was to feel my pain;
as if she held the wind in her hand,
she cried, only a moment of tears,
and she was remade then, softened,
for me, and for the life she had left.

‘Twas an autumn moon had shone
through our window, into our bed,
silhouetting her softest moments,
a caress that she alone could feel;
but, it was not enough to heal her,
her wounded soul was disengaged,
all I could offer was tarnished flesh,
and a moment in the sun to warm her;
then, sorrow took her away from me,
the winds she wept for had returned,
and in her silent farewell, she smiled,
as I kissed her, she sighed soft for me,
then fell away, given back to the wind.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2015 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Given To The Wind

  1. Zoe

    September 12, 2015 at 12:15 pm

    Ahhh i love this “her wounded soul was disengaged,
    all I could offer was tarnished flesh”- incredible writing

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
