RSS

Dear Fortunatus

07 Oct

image

Brave you now, dear Fortunatus,
sing to me of your adventures;
accolades have you, uncounted,
e’en fortune favors your name,
but ’tis of your heart, wonder I;
how bold then were your travels,
having touched the face of God,
pray, speak effervescent words,
that I, vicariously, understand;
now shed of tears, your vision,
these eyes which have seen all,
parlay now of sorrows known,
that I may but cry your regrets;
for I, most earnestly, am wan,
urgent, in need of your wisdom,
teach me now, as learned are you,
make me, once more, your shadow;
that am I mere mortal, undenied,
let earthly ghosts judge my pledge,
for, shall I, one day, be your legacy,
then, shall the stars sing my name.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2015 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Dear Fortunatus

  1. A.E. Rivenbark

    October 7, 2015 at 2:55 am

    Beautiful words and a lovely picture.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
