RSS

Mark Me Well, For I Am Man

25 Nov

image

I am old, and time is short,
tho’ I do not wish to die;
I shall not lie upon this earth,
ne’er to have spoken,
ne’er to have dreamed,
nor e’er to make my final vow.

I am old, and know of fate,
I shall die in my time;
tho’ I’ve yet to know the world,
that is where I breathe,
that is where I love,
and I’ve not yet taken my bow.

I am old, but in good stead,
and the sun still shines;
I still have roses in my hand,
no drear shall dim me,
no shadow falls on me,
ne’er do I o’erlook a single day.

I am old, and shall pass on,
tho’ not without stars;
earth shall tremble at my loss,
for I shall etch my name,
mountains shall speak it,
then shall I, sated thus, fade away.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 25, 2015 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
