RSS

Sonnet XII: Had I The Strength

26 Dec

image

Had I the strength to hold your weakened gaze,
might the sea of your mind remake its tide,
had I unburdened your most troubled days,
would you then feel of my warmth deep inside;
what of my passion had need of respite,
that you had of your face such awkward smile,
and what of our joy had we lost in flight,
to which gods alone could hold for a while;
and what of this dire willed, loathsome arise
should be heir to the construct of your vein,
that in such staid, wanton gaze of my eyes,
should you wither with unwary disdain;
I had no breath to give rise to amend,
it had forsaken me by daylight’s end.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 26, 2015 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
