RSS

Having Come To This

30 Dec

image

Hold me to my word, I pray you,
for the facts which I extol are true,
tho’ no version of my tale be told
with the exacting of its making,
as there was certain enchantment
which was then delayed by youth,
as only now, may be imparted well,
by virtue of more mature retelling;
I chanced to meet an inspiring man,
one of maturity and of vibrant fold,
he was, I recall, a tenured professor
of ancient texts and philosophies,
he introduced to me valued script,
the works of the historic masters
whose wisdoms surpass all known;
thus, enlightened beyond measure,
I began a trek of grand proportions,
one which led me then to my fate,
a constant student of the mind;
for that turn of enlightenment,
I altered my path toward the arts,
not his methods, but by example;
here I’ve been, engaging my mind,
and surmising the purpose of it all,
that, in my mind, I have the answers,
and now, better understand myself.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 30, 2015 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
