RSS

Dear Heart, I Pray You

03 Feb

image

Dear heart, I pray you,
reign in your candor,
and cause not slightest breath’s delay;
that you may yet cry,
though not oft aloud,
as words may fail your pseudo tongue;
that you may shed tears,
in unwithering sorrow,
and beseech me of mine, but in vain;
for what good is will,
such desire to impress,
lest one slip of your hold be my death;
and where be your gibes,
what have you now folly,
that no lover’s laugh has intervened;
where bodes your blood,
that most precious elixir,
and how it burns now ‘neath my breast;
shall I bear your recall,
not of mere memories,
but the tangible stock you keep wan;
dear heart, I pray you,
taste once more the wine,
and lend to life rightful need of me.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 3, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Dear Heart, I Pray You

  1. Dara Reidyr

    February 3, 2016 at 1:30 pm

    Hi Daniel: I’m new to your blog and wanted to say your words are beautiful. Something right out of history like the Romantic poets of old. I’ve only run across a small number, very small, that write in such a way. Lovely work. I look forward to reading more!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Daniel J. Antil

      February 3, 2016 at 1:35 pm

      Thank you, most humbly and sincerely. I adhere to the classical style as I can, for it best suits my needs. Your praise honors me.

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
