RSS

When Laura Smiled

13 Mar

image

I did not see Laura turn away,
as I, with my eyes to the sun,
saw only her hand reach out,
her eyes were left in shadow;
her fingers fell upon my arm,
as if unwilling to say goodbye.

She stayed for a moment more,
a partial whisper still on her lips,
and I turned to face her in parting,
seeing that her gaze had fallen away;
with a last glint of her tender eyes,
she spoke in silent cry of her regret.

And in that moment of her farewell,
she reminded me of the girl I knew,
when, so long ago, she was enamored,
a fondness she had lost along the way;
yet now, in her final breath to speak it,
love found amends when Laura smiled.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 13, 2016 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

2 responses to “When Laura Smiled

  1. Jennifer Calvert

    March 13, 2016 at 10:07 am

    Daniel, every time I read your poetry I’m captivated. Just beautiful. ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
