RSS

Under Your Wing

13 Apr

image

My love, I do pray you,
brave me not to your door,
but to your garden lattice;
‘ere thus spoken soft words,
shall I be worth your hand,
and if acquiesced, your heart.

I am not so bold as to afford
the quickening pace of day;
by your grace, shall I abide,
with honor, in subtle finesse;
and with your tender approval,
shall I then serenade to swoon.

And after this gradual dance,
if you take me to your heart,
then will I be but the student,
and you, the tutor of abandon;
by your direction, shall I know
when to rise, and when to kneel.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 13, 2016 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Under Your Wing

  1. gospelisosceles

    April 15, 2016 at 8:22 pm

    I love the last three lines, particularly, “tutor of abandon.” Rarely do we think of our lover, or our Eternal Creator that way, but maybe we should, dive into love this way.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
