RSS

This Flesh

06 Jun

image

I no longer taste this flesh,
it becomes rancid with age;
no more pliable sweetness
to its form, or to its sage.

This flame no longer burns,
withered form bears no rage;
no more the outcry of revolt,
no more does flesh engage.

Hands no longer grasp at sky,
their reach does languor low;
what once had grappled stars,
now lags with hampered slow.

This flesh, undying, yet wanes,
it has no vibrancy left to show;
this flesh, my life now tendered,
must but fade to shapeless woe.

I no longer wear this flesh,
it’s borne me too long to stay;
let me shed encumbered form,
to take wing and fly as I may.

The allure of time has wooed,
this flesh has no wage to pay;
abide no more in withered form,
arise my spirit to seize the day.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 6, 2016 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

4 responses to “This Flesh

  1. Heartafire

    June 7, 2016 at 12:13 am

    Very beautiful.

    Like

     
  2. Josslyn Rae Turner

    June 7, 2016 at 4:49 am

    Your words have such a beautiful flow. I’m curious to know if you are planning to publish your work in book form or e-book, if it’s not already.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Daniel J. Antil

      June 7, 2016 at 5:01 am

      Thank you! Some of the old ones have already been published long ago, in journals and e-zines. Everything else is just for art’s sake, and to empty my head of the words.

      Liked by 1 person

       

Leave a Reply

 
