RSS

As You Are, ‘Ere I Live

17 Aug

As you live, let me e’er breathe,
that I may say unto Death,
I have tasted your fragrance,
and stirred this air with sighs.

By your kiss, let me e’er sing,
that I may awaken the clouds,
and with my voice unbridled,
cry your sanction to the skies.

At your touch, let me e’er fly,
that I have held your soft hand,
‘ere left unguarded by the angels,
and was then set to winged rise.

As you love, let me e’er live,
that I may stay here on Earth,
if but to be in your presence,
and know nothing of goodbyes.

If you die, let me e’er bleed,
that I shall ne’er have this life,
nor such need of mortal flesh,
and shall e’er weep as Love dies.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 17, 2016 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
