RSS

Sonnet XXVIII:  How Sweet This Misery

18 Sep

How sweet this misery, bound in still breath,
how softly laid, grief, this well of sorrow,
how newly borne, life, arisen from death,
how silent, my cries, unheard ’til morrow;
o’, vagrant eyes, lend this gaze proper pace,
o’, wilding breath, be still with fervent hold,
o’, ardent reach, ply now these hands in place,
o’, timid words, brave you now, true and bold;
let rival hearts bear some similar vein,
lest impassioned cries fall away, unheard,
let e’en this semblance of mortals know pain,
lest the gods feel naught, and speak not a word;
misery, I pray you, keep me at heart,
bear me your comfort, ‘ere I have my art.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2016 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
