RSS

When The World Exploded

12 Dec

I used to think
that all the world,
and all the people in it
were made of stone,
and that one human heart
was at the center of it all;
never ceasing to feel,
never ceasing to beat,
yet never ceasing either
to bleed without honor,
where it could not be cut,
but be bled by tears;
this was the world
as far as I could imagine;
until that world exploded,
and I was left with shards,
too vast to hold onto,
too few to be remade,
not one that I could name;
yet, I used to think
the world was forever,
and that no one
understood this,
except for me;
but I was there
when the world exploded,
and I was there
when the sky wept
with bitter tears;
and I held her in my arms,
when the world was gone,
and that solitary heart
would bleed no more.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 12, 2016 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
