RSS

If I Were But A Child

29 Dec

If I were but an innocent child,
how sweet the world may seem,
everything in nature new to me,
and every great achievement
would be yet but a dream.

But, I’ve been that unclad child,
and in my childhood, day and night,
did I but play in carefree ways,
unaware the world was dark,
or that I could bear the light.

And now, today, have I grown old,
no longer bright with such a fire,
and yet, within my aged bones,
still have I that light once held,
and still have I that keen desire.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 29, 2016 in My Poetry

 

Leave a Reply

 
