RSS

Burst Forth Gaze, And Let Beauty Sway

26 Jan

I might have missed her,
that onslaught of beauty,
when I first came to life
in the dawn of her eyes.

‘Ere my eyes beheld her,
as sight for the first time,
her gaze bestowed to me,
at first glance, a universe.

Our paths, by fate, collide,
brusquely, to the unknown,
no expectations, save life,
no flesh wanton of garb.

She is but a wisp of a girl,
and yet, tempest enfolded,
barely woman, but in form,
her eyes, at once, engage.

Her gaze speeds thru’ me,
as tho’ I, a love returned,
‘ere journeyed to find her,
dare I not disdain illusion.

She need speak not a word,
but breathless, mere sighs,
grappling, not with hands,
but with unwavering gaze.

She withheld in her breast
a certain subtle innocence,
as more suited to a child,
yet a refined womanly art.

With her efficient cunning,
she has most beguiled me,
her gaze unconscionable,
without mouthing a sound.

A soft lock of hair falls,
silently across her cheek,
adhering itself succinctly
o’er the sea of her rose lips.

Paralyzed, I catch my breath
from my lunge into her eyes,
stifling any foolish thought
that may stain the moment.

She says, simply, “Hello.”
Her voice, a memory held,
and her smile, an oration,
replying to wanton flesh.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 26, 2017 in My Poetry

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Burst Forth Gaze, And Let Beauty Sway

  1. jasperkerkauwriting

    January 26, 2017 at 3:43 am

    This is unreal. Best poetry I have read in a month. Brilliant. I absolutely love this! Will read more.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
